After a 7 week hiatus, I am back in the box…

Standard

It’s been a bit of a hectic day so when there’s finally a lull in the queue, I try to quickly eat my lunch. Man wanders over…

Man: Enjoying that are you?
Me: Yeah.
Man: Chinese?
Me: No.
Man: What you got?
Me: It’s falafel.
Man: And what?
Me: Just some salad.
Man: I thought you had Chinese.
Me: Nah, it’s falafel.

*Silence punctuated only by the sound of my own uncomfortable chews*

Man: Well I’ll leave you to it, shall I?
Me: OK.

I suppose if nothing else, I now know that it feels very odd to maintain eye contact with a stranger whilst swallowing your food. Always learning.

Leave a Reply

