To commemorate the final performance of We Will Rock You, here is my favourite anecdote from the good old days…

Standard

A woman enters the shop, visibly furious.

Woman: I’ve just walked past the We Will Rock You theatre on my way here and I want to speak to someone in charge. I want to know just who has permitted them to erect a statue of Hitler outside? It’s so disrespectful! There are Jewish people all over London, I think it’s disgusting.
Me: Absolutely. Just checking, you know We Will Rock You is the Queen musical, yeah?
Woman: Yes, so?
Me: So… the statue is Freddie Mercury. Not Hitler.
Woman: His arm is up in the air?
Me: Just striking a pose.
Woman: Oh… Well. They should be more careful, they should think about these things.
Me: I’ll pass the message on. 

One thought on “To commemorate the final performance of We Will Rock You, here is my favourite anecdote from the good old days…

Leave a Reply

